By First Responders, for First Responders

This website was developed as a collaborative effort by a committed Steering Committee of First Responders, leaders, organized labour, WCB Nova Scotia, and Government representatives. The goal of the Committee and this website, is to eliminate the stigma that surrounds traumatic stress injuries, and provide tools and resources that help First Responders protect their mental health throughout their careers.

The Nova Scotia First Responder Steering Committee would like to hear from you.

Your feedback can help to improve this website. Please send your comments or suggestions to

The members of the Nova Scotia First Responder Steering Committee are:

Karen Butterworth

Instructor in the Occupational Health and Safety Program at Cape Breton University

Debra Fortune

Paramedic, Emergency Health Services

Deepak Prasad

Sergeant, Royal Canadian Mounted Police

Melissa Jenkins

Manager Health and Wellness, Emergency Medical Care Inc.

Mike Sears

Secretary of the Halifax Professional Fire Fighters Association (and current Fire Fighter)

Mark Hartlen

Executive Director, Halifax Regional Police Association (and former Police Officer)

Shelley Rowan

Vice President, Prevention and Service Delivery, WCB Nova Scotia

Scott Penner

Critical Incident Stress Management Team member, Nova Scotia Fire Services Association/Chaplain, Onslow Belmont Fire Brigade

Janet Hazelton

President, Nova Scotia Nurses’ Union

Brad Beadman

Wellness Coordinator, H Division, Royal Canadian Mounted Police

Hugh Gillis

1st Vice President, NS Government Employees Union

Kim Terrio

Assistant Warden, Truro Institute

Michelle Thomason

Occupational Health and Safety Branch, LSI